Hot Mess with a Side of Acai

Ever had one of those days where you didn’t look the best, but decided to risk exposure to the world because you were hungry and upon reaching your destination decided to abort the mission because the venue was really crowded and everyone looked good and you didn’t? Yeah well, that was me when I went to get acai bowls at 3 Natives for lunch today πŸ™ƒ

Today I decided that even though my makeup didn’t look exactly how I wanted it, I was #hungry and wanted to treat myself to the delicious mixture of acai, bananas, granola and honey πŸ˜‹ When I got there the entire place was PACKED. As I walked up I looked into the eyes of a person I was rather embarrassed to see and then promptly decided that my hot-mess self needed to grab my food and go as soon as time would allow.

As I was walking home I was hit with incredible shame as I realized I was acting in a manner that showed I didn’t think I was good enough to be in the presence of those people. I avoided the situation and bolted as soon as I got the chance. I didn’t want to risk anyone seeing me at a less than perfect display of myself.

Have you ever felt like that? Have you ever stopped yourself from doing something or hidden away because you weren’t confident in your appearance? What is it about makeup that gives us confidence but not the fact that we were made in the image of God (Genesis 1:27)?

I think the GNT version of Proverbs 29:15 says it well, “It is dangerous to be concerned with what others think of you, but if you trust the LORD, you are safe.”

It’s dangerous, it lays a snare to be concerned with what others think because sometimes you’ll do things that you normally wouldn’t do. Like run away from people and have your acai melt because you were too afraid of being surrounded by people when you looked “less than” your best.

My friends, the Lord made you as you areβ€”are you trusting that you are enough because He says you are? Even if you don’t think it or feel it, I can promise you that Jesus finds you beautiful no matter how messy you are. Not that He loves your mess, but because He is enamored by your radiance. Give Him your worries, no matter how small they seem πŸ’™

 

Full Photo:

IMG_0031_Katie

Leave a Reply

